Book Review Divergent

499 words - 2 pages

This book was really good, but it is definitely not without flaws. I won't waste time with a summary. I think everyone who is interested in this book already knows the basic idea. Lets start with those things that bothered me. It will be quick and painless like ripping off a band-aid. Tris. Wow this is one character that I could love one second and be extremely annoyed with the next. At one point she was unique, and then somehow she became a character that became indistinguishable from so many other YA heroines. That made me sad. For the most part, though, I liked her. I enjoyed most of her ...view middle of the document...

Too quickly, though, (in my opinion) she climbed the ranks and lost all originality.Okay. Now that that is out of the way let me say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book despite all of that. The writing is so fast paced and action filled I didn't even have time to think about those things until I was done reading. The story moves very quickly, and for the most part keeps the reader engaged. For most of the story we are following Tris on her initiation into the Dauntless faction. She came from Abnegation which is a faction devoted to being selfless, and they run the government as well. Obviously life is different for her now and she needs to prove she's brave. Throw in an adorable guy who likes her despite the fact that she's supposedly not pretty and has the body of a twelve year old and here is the romance. It's cute how he doesn't care that she's not beautiful. Four is probably the best thing about this book. I also enjoyed how the author explored conquering fears. Above all else this is a fun book that is meant to be enjoyed without having to think. I'm glad so many others have been able to fall in love with this book, and not over think it like I have.But fear should also be listened to. If someone says you have to jump off a building to prove yourself, and you know you could die, true bravery would be to look them in the eye and tell them it's stupid and pointless. It's to stand up for yourself.

Find Another Essay On Book review- Divergent

A Decade of Change for Women

810 words - 4 pages ”. Long Island Newsday. 14 March 2014. Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. Scholastic Press, 2008. Dargis, Manohla and A. O. Scott. “A Radical Female Hero From Dystopia”. The New York Times. 4 April 2012. Fallon, Claire. “14 Amazing YA Book With Inspirational Heroines”. Huff Post. 18 December 2013. Johnson, Teresa. “Divergent is Basically How Feminism Works”. The Horn. 2 April 2014. Lowen, Linda. “The Hunger Games’ Book Review

HR Challenges Essay

1600 words - 7 pages attempt of overcoming strategic challenges related to human capital without considering other intangible assets such as information and organization capital appears futile. In a prelude of this book review, it is worthy to justify the perspectives of HR roles, strategic or supportive, based on which authors offer their discourses and findings. The frequent use of terms such as strategic process, competitiveness, competitive advantage, competencies

An Analysis of Why Nations Fail

1052 words - 4 pages Descriptive Why Nations Fail takes an in depth look into why some countries flourish and become rich powerful nations while other countries are left in or reduced to poverty. Throughout this book review I will discuss major arguments and theories used by the authors and how they directly impact international development, keeping in mind that nations are only as strong as their political and economical systems. Extractive institutions are used

Death in Young Adult Fiction

2441 words - 10 pages , such as Divergent and the Harry Potter series, multiple characters die in each book installment, including both of the title characters. Readers tend to presume the protagonists will survive, but the characters themselves cannot know if they might – so it can be argued that they indeed commit themselves to the ultimate sacrifice at one point during their stories (Loidl 181). Harry, Tris, and Enki from The Summer Prince, all make these shocking

Africa and Africans

887 words - 4 pages along with social and political interests. The book under review, as its title might imply, is more than just a local study of the African continent and its complex problems in the Atlantic world. It is an investigation into the transformation of the Atlantic world and the interactions that took place between the New World and Europe between 1400 and 1800. Thornton’s book is divided into two sections: Part I consists of four chapters which

A Review of Polities, Authority, Identities, and Change

1560 words - 6 pages Polities, Authority, Identities and Change yielded after more than 20 years of productive cooperation of Yale H. Ferguson and Richard W. Mansbach. Several years before publishing Policies, in their previous book The Elusive Quest: Theory and International Politics, Ferguson and Mansbach exposed the need for displaying an alternative approach to perceiving and interpreting relations among different polities, which served as a foundation for this

The Medici Effects by Frans Johansson

1628 words - 7 pages When we were given the opportunity to review a book that related to our entrepreneurship class I had one goal in mind, I wanted to find an author that was not the typical writer. I did not want a sixty-five year old professor who would give me dry explanations about theories and business models that I had covered in class. Frans Johansson was raised in Sweden and received his bachelor’s in Environmental Science then earned his MBA. Johansson was

Critical review of a chapter from 'Teaching children to learn' by Fisher. of use for any trainee teacher doi8ng a Education Studies module

1866 words - 7 pages Critically review a chapter of your choice from Fisher (1995) Teaching Children to Learn in relation to school experience:Chapter 8 - Coaching.I have chosen to critically analyse Fisher chapter 8 on cognitive coaching. When reading through the book this chapter instantly interested me, I wanted to learn more about children's unique learning styles and the strategies we can introduce to enhance their learning. I will be looking into four fields

"Chronicle of a Death Foretold" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

1038 words - 4 pages their plans to a policeman who passes on the information to the mayor, yet even that does not stop the murder. In a realistic society, city officials or someone in the town would do something to prevent a murder.There are a few unexplained discrepancies, for instance the people the narrator interviews have sharply divergent recollections of the weather on the day of Nasar's death, but nothing that could not be attributed to the witnesses' flawed

Melbourne the ‘events’ city

1414 words - 6 pages facets that make Melbourne an international sporting city. From the volume of international level sport played, the location of the grounds, the sheer passion Melbournians have for sport and their grounds, attendance rates and how it stimulates the economy. Melbourne is the best sporting city in the world, and its no longer just Melbournians saying that. Works Cited Cashman, R., Hickie, T. and Others. 1990. The divergent sporting cultures of

A study of Costa Rican Exceptionalism within the realm of state formation

1102 words - 5 pages political institutions and structures. As such the author describes the period as the critical to the explanation of divergent political outcomes in Central America (Mahoney 2001). In addition the reader will also benefit from the ideas put forward by Samuel Stone in his book, La Dinastía de los Conquistadores. One proposition in particular, of use to understand the process of political centralization, is the reason behind why San Jose would become

Similar Essays

Divergent Book Review

982 words - 4 pages Divergent, by author Veronica Roth, is noted on the New York Bestseller list. It is the first book in the trilogy series of novels for young adults that further expands the look and feel of the dystopian genre in young adult fiction. It has a feeling similar in comparison to the book Hunger Games and The Maze Runner yet it has many differences. Divergent looks more into the personality of its characters from the inside and the resulting

Divergent Book Review

579 words - 3 pages confusing and not organised as well as the other parts of the book. Also, I don’t believe that only a few people in their community are Divergent. I really think that the lack of Divergent people is unrealistic, however this does make the actions of Divergents more interesting than those who only possess one strong characteristic, so for me it obviously isn’t a deal-breaker. I would recommend this book to people who enjoyed The Hunger Games, as it has

Divergent Essay

1107 words - 5 pages ://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/worldview ""Divergent" by Veronica Roth - A Christian Review of the Book." JW Wartick Always Have a Reason. N.p., n.d. Web. 03 May 2014. http://jwwartick.com/2014/03/17/divergent-vr/ "Veronica Roth Reveals What Inspired Her to Write 'Divergent'" Page to Premiere. N.p., n.d. Web. 03 May 2014. http://www.pagetopremiere.com/2014/03/veronica-roth-reveals- what-inspired-her-to-write-divergent/

The Divergent Series By Veronica Roth

1182 words - 5 pages . . Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. New York: Scholastic, 2008. Print. Dominus, Susan. "Sunday Book Review: In This Dystopia, Teens Must Choose Wisely." The New York Times. The New York Times, 14 May 2011. Web. 25 Mar. 2014. < http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/15/books/review/young-adult-books-divergent-by-veronica-roth.html?_r=0> Plumer, Brad. "Absolutely Everything You Need to Know about How the