Divergent Book Review

579 words - 3 pages

Divergent; the debut novel of Veronica Roth, American author. This novel is the first of the Divergent trilogy, Set in a dystopian Chicago world. The cities society is divided up into 5 factions, with each faction believing that one characteristic and lifestyle is more important than others. The main character of the novel, Beatrice Prior, was born into the faction ‘Abnegation’, which is the faction that values selflessness. The other factions, Dauntless, Amity, Candor and Erudite prioritise bravery, peace, honesty and intelligence, respectively. Not everyone succeeds in being a successful member of a faction. These people are sent to live as the Factionless in cultural limbo somewhere in the city.
Every year all sixteen year olds are required to take a test which will tell them which faction they are suited to. On a scheduled day, the sixteen year olds select which faction they would like to spend the rest of their life in. For Beatrice, her choice is between staying with her family, or choosing where she thinks she belongs. This novel is called Divergent because some people are suited to more than one faction and those people are referred to as Divergent. People who are Divergent are feared because they could destroy the ‘perfect society’ that the survivors had created, therefore they need to hide what they are, or else they would be killed.
For me this is a really good book, one reason being that it kept me interested. The exciting feel of the book almost never stops after it really takes off and it’s a page-turner for sure. This book also has many twists and turns, which aren’t expected and make your head swirling to keep...

Find Another Essay On Divergent - Book Review

A Decade of Change for Women

810 words - 4 pages ”. Long Island Newsday. 14 March 2014. Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. Scholastic Press, 2008. Dargis, Manohla and A. O. Scott. “A Radical Female Hero From Dystopia”. The New York Times. 4 April 2012. Fallon, Claire. “14 Amazing YA Book With Inspirational Heroines”. Huff Post. 18 December 2013. Johnson, Teresa. “Divergent is Basically How Feminism Works”. The Horn. 2 April 2014. Lowen, Linda. “The Hunger Games’ Book Review

HR Challenges Essay

1600 words - 7 pages attempt of overcoming strategic challenges related to human capital without considering other intangible assets such as information and organization capital appears futile. In a prelude of this book review, it is worthy to justify the perspectives of HR roles, strategic or supportive, based on which authors offer their discourses and findings. The frequent use of terms such as strategic process, competitiveness, competitive advantage, competencies

An Analysis of Why Nations Fail

1052 words - 4 pages Descriptive Why Nations Fail takes an in depth look into why some countries flourish and become rich powerful nations while other countries are left in or reduced to poverty. Throughout this book review I will discuss major arguments and theories used by the authors and how they directly impact international development, keeping in mind that nations are only as strong as their political and economical systems. Extractive institutions are used

Death in Young Adult Fiction

2441 words - 10 pages , such as Divergent and the Harry Potter series, multiple characters die in each book installment, including both of the title characters. Readers tend to presume the protagonists will survive, but the characters themselves cannot know if they might – so it can be argued that they indeed commit themselves to the ultimate sacrifice at one point during their stories (Loidl 181). Harry, Tris, and Enki from The Summer Prince, all make these shocking

Africa and Africans

887 words - 4 pages along with social and political interests. The book under review, as its title might imply, is more than just a local study of the African continent and its complex problems in the Atlantic world. It is an investigation into the transformation of the Atlantic world and the interactions that took place between the New World and Europe between 1400 and 1800. Thornton’s book is divided into two sections: Part I consists of four chapters which

A Review of Polities, Authority, Identities, and Change

1560 words - 6 pages Polities, Authority, Identities and Change yielded after more than 20 years of productive cooperation of Yale H. Ferguson and Richard W. Mansbach. Several years before publishing Policies, in their previous book The Elusive Quest: Theory and International Politics, Ferguson and Mansbach exposed the need for displaying an alternative approach to perceiving and interpreting relations among different polities, which served as a foundation for this

The Medici Effects by Frans Johansson

1628 words - 7 pages When we were given the opportunity to review a book that related to our entrepreneurship class I had one goal in mind, I wanted to find an author that was not the typical writer. I did not want a sixty-five year old professor who would give me dry explanations about theories and business models that I had covered in class. Frans Johansson was raised in Sweden and received his bachelor’s in Environmental Science then earned his MBA. Johansson was

Critical review of a chapter from 'Teaching children to learn' by Fisher. of use for any trainee teacher doi8ng a Education Studies module

1866 words - 7 pages Critically review a chapter of your choice from Fisher (1995) Teaching Children to Learn in relation to school experience:Chapter 8 - Coaching.I have chosen to critically analyse Fisher chapter 8 on cognitive coaching. When reading through the book this chapter instantly interested me, I wanted to learn more about children's unique learning styles and the strategies we can introduce to enhance their learning. I will be looking into four fields

"Chronicle of a Death Foretold" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

1038 words - 4 pages their plans to a policeman who passes on the information to the mayor, yet even that does not stop the murder. In a realistic society, city officials or someone in the town would do something to prevent a murder.There are a few unexplained discrepancies, for instance the people the narrator interviews have sharply divergent recollections of the weather on the day of Nasar's death, but nothing that could not be attributed to the witnesses' flawed

Melbourne the ‘events’ city

1414 words - 6 pages facets that make Melbourne an international sporting city. From the volume of international level sport played, the location of the grounds, the sheer passion Melbournians have for sport and their grounds, attendance rates and how it stimulates the economy. Melbourne is the best sporting city in the world, and its no longer just Melbournians saying that. Works Cited Cashman, R., Hickie, T. and Others. 1990. The divergent sporting cultures of

A study of Costa Rican Exceptionalism within the realm of state formation

1102 words - 5 pages political institutions and structures. As such the author describes the period as the critical to the explanation of divergent political outcomes in Central America (Mahoney 2001). In addition the reader will also benefit from the ideas put forward by Samuel Stone in his book, La Dinastía de los Conquistadores. One proposition in particular, of use to understand the process of political centralization, is the reason behind why San Jose would become

Similar Essays

Divergent Book Review

982 words - 4 pages Divergent, by author Veronica Roth, is noted on the New York Bestseller list. It is the first book in the trilogy series of novels for young adults that further expands the look and feel of the dystopian genre in young adult fiction. It has a feeling similar in comparison to the book Hunger Games and The Maze Runner yet it has many differences. Divergent looks more into the personality of its characters from the inside and the resulting

Book Review Divergent

499 words - 2 pages This book was really good, but it is definitely not without flaws. I won't waste time with a summary. I think everyone who is interested in this book already knows the basic idea. Lets start with those things that bothered me. It will be quick and painless like ripping off a band-aid. Tris. Wow this is one character that I could love one second and be extremely annoyed with the next. At one point she was unique, and then somehow she became a

Divergent Essay

1107 words - 5 pages ://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/worldview ""Divergent" by Veronica Roth - A Christian Review of the Book." JW Wartick Always Have a Reason. N.p., n.d. Web. 03 May 2014. http://jwwartick.com/2014/03/17/divergent-vr/ "Veronica Roth Reveals What Inspired Her to Write 'Divergent'" Page to Premiere. N.p., n.d. Web. 03 May 2014. http://www.pagetopremiere.com/2014/03/veronica-roth-reveals- what-inspired-her-to-write-divergent/

The Divergent Series By Veronica Roth

1182 words - 5 pages . . Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. New York: Scholastic, 2008. Print. Dominus, Susan. "Sunday Book Review: In This Dystopia, Teens Must Choose Wisely." The New York Times. The New York Times, 14 May 2011. Web. 25 Mar. 2014. < http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/15/books/review/young-adult-books-divergent-by-veronica-roth.html?_r=0> Plumer, Brad. "Absolutely Everything You Need to Know about How the