“An estimated 3 million people in the United States have celiac disease” (U.S. Food and Drug Administration). For these three million people eating food that contains gluten damage their small intestine and put them at risk for other serious health concerns such as intestinal cancers (U.S. Food and Drug Administration). Due to the number of people with celiac disease there have been more and more products that advertise being gluten free. After doing some research of online grocery stores to see what gluten free products they carried I was shocked at the number of dessert gluten free products the grocery stores had. So I decided to do a little more research to see if there were any products that were naturally gluten free. What I found was shocked me; there are several products that are naturally gluten free including: all fruits and vegetables, meats (unless breaded or fried with breadcrumbs that are not gluten free) and honey (The Complete List of Gluten Free Foods). So with this information I started to do some research on the requirements for listing a product as gluten free.
In August 2013, the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) released a rule that created a universal definition of “gluten-free” helping consumers be confident that products labeled “gluten-free” meet a defined gluten content standard (U.S. Food and Drug Administration). The rule defines “gluten-free” as:
either meaning the product is inherently gluten free; or does not contain an ingredient that is: 1) a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat); 2) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or 3) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food. (United States Food and Drug Administration)
Basically meaning any food or beverage product that wants to use the words “gluten-free” on their label have to have less than twenty parts per million of gluten; or less than two-hundredths of a gram of gluten per 2.2 pounds.
However the FDA’s ruling only applies to products whose labeling are regulated by the FDA (United States Food and Drug Administration). Products such as meats, poultry, some egg products, and most alcoholic beverages labels are regulated by the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) or the Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) and therefore are exempt from the FDA’s ruling (United States Food and Drug Administration)
. Since the only way to manage Celiac disease is to eat a gluten free diet, (Food and Drug Adminstration) I wanted to choose a product that contained absolutely no gluten. After doing research on the requirements for labeling a product “gluten-free” I realized I decided to rule out any meats since the labeling of such products is regulated by the USDA therefore not subject to the FDA’s ruling. So I...