This website uses cookies to ensure you have the best experience. Learn more

March 7, 2014 Concert Review/Evaluation

1066 words - 5 pages

To begin with, I would like to express some thoughts on our band’s (concert band) performance. Personally, I felt far more relaxed during this concert, partially because of the fact that there were less people in the audience and also because it was my second concert. Overall, I felt I had good performance, and that it was a lot easier to play this concert, as I was not as nervous as before. I felt that i played reasonably well during the duration of our concert, and I would probably give myself a grade of an B+/A- because, I felt that at times I was not listening to the rest of the band, and I was too worried about my own part. Also, I needed to have clearer articulation, and better dynamics in a few key places in our music.
Moving on, I will talk about our ensemble’s most outstanding elements. As a whole, I thought our appearance was great, and that our band played reasonably well throughout the concert. I would say that our last two pieces were our best ones. I felt that compared to last concert, we had improved our quality of sound and our musicality.We had better dynamics, and we sounded more together. The least effective elements of our ensemble as whole, were probably the first two songs.Our biggest issues throughout our concert were that at times, we were too quiet, and also that when we had to jump up to play a higher note, we fell flat. Additionally, I felt that our musicality was not as apparent in the first two songs as it was in the last two. Our dynamics and articulation seemed a bit lacking, and certain instruments were overpowering others. Overall, our ensemble seemed to have improved greatly since our last concert.
Furthermore, we played our four pieces well, but there is still things we could improve. Our first song, Metrix, had a light, and lively tune. However, we lacked articulation in this piece. We often mushed notes together and the end of our phrases seemed “jagged” as we were not connecting the notes. Also, the trumpets sounded a bit flat, and they also sounded like they were not playing together. As a whole, our whole band sounded a lot more quiet than we did during the rehearsal. Lastly, we needed to express our dynamics more. Our tone had a good quality throughout the entire piece. Our next song, The Water is Wide is a slow wong, that needs to be played with a lot of expression. I thought we played with good dynamics, and a nice tone. However, a couple of problems, were that we did not make the note “grow” and that our notes were not connected. The whole notes needed to be sustained better, and at times the flutes overpowered the rest of the band. (probably because they were right in front of the mic) We played our third song, Cold Mountain Saga, the best. Our musicality was portrayed well, we had a good tone, and played in tempo for most of the song. The bass needed to play more confidently, as they needed to sustain their notes better. The trumpets were not playing together, and the cymbals were a bit...

Find Another Essay On March 7, 2014 Concert Review/Evaluation

Research Methods - The emergence of live music in Brasov, Romania

3083 words - 12 pages ://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Romania/Judetul_Brasov/Brasov-520761/Nightlife-Brasov-TG-C-1.html - Review from guest, August 2011; accessed 15th December 2013http://www.videoguide.ro/en/bistro-de-larte-brasov.html - Staff member presents Bistro de'l Arte, March 2011; accessed 12th December, 2013http://www.vinsieu.ro/evenimente/muzica-si-concerte/brasov/data/toate/clsd.html - List of currently scheduled musical Events in Brasov, January 2014; accessed

Australia ISP Study Essay

1412 words - 6 pages ://www.communications.gov.au/post/australia_post/australia_post_history xi. History; Telstra; 7 March 2014; Unclassified; http://www.telstra.com.au/aboutus/our-company/past/ xii. Privatization; Australian Competition and Consumer Commission; 9 March 2014; Unclassified; http://www.accc.gov.au/system/files/Schedule%20A.3%20of%20Telstra%20public%20submission.pdf xiii. Government Regulation; Global Competition Review; 9 March 2014; Unclassified; http

Macklemore's Concert

960 words - 4 pages Nguyen, JenniferProfessor HauseyMusic 101 Online Winter25 January 2014Ryan Lewis & Macklemore's ConcertOn January 23, 2014, I attended Macklemore and Ryan Lewis's Concert at the Belasco Theater in Los Angeles, California at 7:00pm. Although the show said it would start at 7:00pm, the concert did not really begin until around 7:45pm to 8:00pm. There were two artists performing: Ben Haggerty also known as Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. I attended

The ultimate guide for future entertainment technician

939 words - 4 pages take care of the sound, lights, stage and any special effect needed for the show. If you have been to a concert then you can guess as to how much work it must take to set up all that stuff. Just to give you an idea as to how long and inconsistent their work hours are you will learn about the Stars Dance Tour by Selena Gomez. Selena is an international artist and had show in Vancouver, BC at Rogers Arena; most of the crew started the set up around 7

A New, Improved Way to Package Goods for Transport with Liner Shipping

1598 words - 7 pages /0215_MacroSMOO2012-1.aspx [Accessed March 2, 2014]. Blonigen, B.A. & Wilson, W.W., 2013. The growth and patterns of international trade. Maritime Policy & Management, 40(7), pp.618–635. Available at: http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/03088839.2013.851454 [Accessed February 26, 2014]. Brooks, M., 2000. Sea Change in Liner Shipping, Oxford: Pergamon. Chew, E.P., Lee, L.H. & Tang, L.C. eds., 2011. Advances in Maritime Logistics and Supply Chain Systems

Australian's School Nutrition Program Evaluation

1238 words - 5 pages the findings. An evaluation of the SNP must include benefits to all indigenous children involved such as free access to treatment and care for the children with medical conditions. Policy factors are also important to be considered in this evaluation. The 2014 SNP evaluation must have an Institutional Review Board (IRB) or get approval from an ethics committee (7). This will safeguard the rights of the participating indigenous children

Policy Analysis: The Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Act

2387 words - 10 pages and Wiley on January 15, 2014 (Senate bill 1182, 2014). The bill has been referred to the Senate Law and Justice Committee and was scheduled for a public hearing on Tuesday, January 28, 2014 (Senate bill 1182, 2014). There has been no further hearing or committee action. In order to qualify for medical marijuana, a physician would complete an evaluation of the patient’s medical background and current medical condition (Senate bill 1182, 2014

Answers to Questions Regarding Banking and Security Issues

1807 words - 8 pages /Outsourcing_in_financial_services_report__February_2005.pdf [Accessed 6 March 2014] Risk management Guidance. [Online] Available at: http://www.occ.gov/news-issuances/bulletins/2013/bulletin-2013-29.html [Accessed 7 March 2014] Financial Services Guidance Note Outsourcing (2005) http://www.fsc.gi/download/adobe/GuidanceNote-Outsourcing.pdf [Accessed 1 March 2014] Official site of Reserve Bank of India (2006) http://www.rbi.org.in/commonman/english/scripts/Notification.aspx?Id=40

Assignment # 1

1018 words - 5 pages The Association For Library Collections & Technical Services – Review & Evaluation The Association For Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is an organization that is dedicated to education, cooperation and information sharing of matters relating to the technical services field of library and information science. They produced and published a quarterly publication, Library Resources & Technical Services. ALCTS also provides web

SPC Ardmona Case Study

2711 words - 11 pages solve these problems rather than use tax payer’s money (Packham 2014). As for the Victorian government, they agreed to provide assistance package to secure this company’s future. Critical evaluation on the bailout 1. The significance of SPC Ardmona – Triple bottom line analysis Triple bottom line is a business framework that emphasises the value of people, planet and profits in decision-making. It works as the criteria to measure sustainability

Science and Medicine in Islam

1163 words - 5 pages , Facts On File, Inc. http://www.fofweb.com/activelink2.asp? (accessed March 7, 2014). A source that gives lengthy and detailed insights into the scientific advancements of Islam during the medieval period. Nasser M, Tibi A, Savage-Smith E (2007). "Ibn Sina’s Canon of Medicine: 11th century rules for assessing the effects of drugs." JLL Bulletin: Commentaries on the history of treatment evaluation A scholarly article/review on Ibn Sina's/Avicenna's

Similar Essays

A Review Of Live Performances At The Denver Performing Art Complex

3051 words - 13 pages On March 30, 2014 I made the trek in to Denver, for a Masterworks performance of Litton Conducts Vaughan Williams. The performance was at the Boettcher Concert Hall at the Denver performing Arts Complex right in the heart of downtown. I can truly say that this was going to be an experience for me, since I do not ever take the opportunity to drive clear in to downtown Denver very often if ever at all. However, today was the day. I found my way

Climate Change Adaptation Planning: Tourism Industry In The Himalaya Region

1603 words - 7 pages ://www.csiro.au/resources/CAF-working-papers.html> Gössling,S & Scott, D 2008, ‘Climate Change and Tourism: Exploring Destination Vulnerability’, Tourism Review International, vol. 12, no. 1, pp.1-3, viewed 24 March 2014, Ives, JD, Shrestha, RB, Mool, PK 2010, Formation of glacial lakes in the Hindu Kush-Himalayas and GLOF risk assessment, International Centre for Integrated

Concert Criticism Essay

957 words - 4 pages Concert Criticism Concert Criticism (Essay, 500 words, typed). Attend one public concert of classical music during this course. Write a review or criticism based on your experience. Include your response as a listener to the "live" presentations of varied repertoires; to the circumstances and setting in which the performance occurred; and to the performers. Evaluate these in terms of your own personal growth, and the validity of the artistic

Critical Analysis Of Spca Case

2666 words - 11 pages > Parker, C. 2013, ‘ACCC’s inquiry into supermarket bullying misses the real issue of duopoly power’, The Conversation, 19 February, viewed 9 June 2014, Porter, M. 1979, ‘How competitive forces shape strategy’, Harvard Business Review, March-April, p.141, viewed 8 June 2014, SPC