This website uses cookies to ensure you have the best experience. Learn more

Realism And How Authors Like Mark Twain And F. Scott Fitzgerald Give A "Tell It Like It Is" Writing In The Stories. An Author Can Only Write Realistically About What He/She Knows.

1825 words - 7 pages

In American literature realism, is an approach that attempts to describe life without idealization or romantic subjectivity. Realism has been mainly concerned with the commonplaces of everyday life among the middle and lower classes, where character is a product of social factors and environment is the important element in the dramatic complications.The realism sought to explain why ordinary people behave they way they do. What, for example, fuels the ambitions of a young man who has come from the country to the city to make his fortune? Why does an apparently happily married woman decide to have a love affair? What leads a woman to accept or reject a particular man? In trying to answer these questions, realistic novelists often relied on the emerging sciences of human and animal behavior--biology, psychology, and sociology--as well as on their own insights and observations.Realism from 1865 to the present has changed. As authors have moved into a global world, their writing has become less regional and therefore less realistic. Writers today do research instead of writing about what they already know about. As the world has become more global, authors have become more full. To a certain extent, realism is about presenting a limited view because is very much about regionalism. An author can only write realistically about what he/she knows.Authors like Mark Twain and F. Scott Fitzgerald gives a "tell it like it is" writing in the stories. In the novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, the setting has a large influence on Huck's character. The period of time that Huck lived in was a distinct era. The country was changing rapidly. During this period steam engines enabled rivers to be used as mass transportation, an idea that had never been explored until now.There were many traits of this era that can be seen by looking at the components of Huck's character, his language, actions and thoughts. Some of these traits are subtle and can be easily missed but others are very obvious and powerful. This period of change was the setting of Huck's childhood. One trait that is indicative of the era is the social class of Huck and Huck's language. It is greatly affected by his social class and setting. The broken English is a sign of Huck's low social class. In addition it also shows that he is from a southern river town. This can be seen from his expressions and accent.The rules of the time that Huck's character is governed upon, Huck was never educated. During the early 1800s there was no law that required children to go to school, therefore his low intellect has a strong impact on Huck's character. It gives him a "plain and simple" outlook on life, this trait can been seen throughout the book in Huck's character. One specific area it affects is Huck's plans for his future. Huck only thought about what he was going to do for present. Huck had an incapable father. He was thought of as the town drunk, and would often come home intoxicated and abuse Huck. At...

Find Another Essay On Realism and how authors like Mark Twain and F. Scott Fitzgerald give a "tell it like it is" writing in the stories. An author can only write realistically about what he/she knows.

Who Was Mark Twain? It is an Essay about Mark Twain

945 words - 4 pages Charles Dudley Warner about the 1800s era of corruption and exploitation at the expense of the public welfare. Published in 1873, The Gilded Age was Twain's first extended work of fiction and mapped him in the literary world as an author rather than journalist. After the success of The Gilded Age, Twain began a period of concentrated writing. In 1880, his third daughter, Jean, was born. By the time Twain reached the age of fifty, he was already

Critical Lens Essay. On the quote " It is not what an author says, but what he or she whispers that is important," by Logan Pearsall Smith

529 words - 2 pages "It is not what an author says, but what he or she whispers that is important," by Logan Pearsall Smith. This quote means that the author delivers the theme through underlie themes. A lot of the times he may not come out and say what they are trying to say. Most of the time you have to read between the lines. This statement is true in literature as well as in life. Two literary works that prove this quote to be true are "The Tragedy of Macbeth

Comparing Hills Like White Elephans by Ernest Hemingway and Babylon Revisited by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2392 words - 10 pages Like White Elephants” the American man’s request to Jig was that she get an abortion. Ultimately the decision was up to her because the baby would be an extension of her body, therefore she was in control. Avoiding having to care for a baby and letting his relationship get back to normal was the key to the American man’s happiness (Kozikowski, 109). He explained that it was “an awfully simple procedure….not really an operation at all” (Hemingway

This is a essay about music motivation and music therapy. Hope you like it

1158 words - 5 pages recorded music emphasizing the importance of the therapist/music relationship.The skillful use of music can smooth the progress of emotional self-expression and provide a supportive and non-threatening situation with opportunities to tackle fears and converse present concerns. Musical associations can facilitate life evaluation and assist in resolving significant personal issues. Regardless of how music is used in the process of therapy, it

This essay is about Mel Gibson's Passion of the Christ. I review the movie and see if Mel Gibson's directing efforts paid off like he wanted it to

1244 words - 5 pages my friends, and the greatest love a person can have for his friends is to give his life for them."I give this movie a "B" because I have to assign a grade. But truly, there is no way to rate this movie as one would the usual multiplex fodder or quirky indie. Without being a theologian or an historian, all I can do is respond as a movie critic, and urge those who want to see it to use it as an opportunity to consider their own faith and the way

“Show me a hero and I’ll write you a tragedy” – F. Scott Fitzgerald –

1716 words - 7 pages different because he started out living the good life. But in Fitzgerald’s stories, the hero will never win. He even says, “Show me a hero, and I’ll write you a tragedy” (F. Scott Fitzgerald), which is precisely why I chose it as my title. Dick had money and a beautiful wife who was very young but then made wrong decisions and ended up loosing it all. “He knew that what he was now doing marked a turning point in his life—it was out of line with

The Great Gatsby and the American Dream Title: The Great Gatsby Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

1078 words - 4 pages F. Scott Fitzgerald is famous for writing the "Great American Novel" known as The Great Gatsby (Baker 123). This epic novel portrays life in the 1920's during the jazz years, prohibition, and World War I. The story seems to take on a theme of romance, success, wealth, moral values and happiness or what is thought of as the "American Dream."However, as it turns out, due to easy money and the carefree social values of the era, The Great Gatsby

Explain why is it important to analyse deviance in society. Using examples to illustrate your answer, discuss what such an analysis can tell us about the social and political implications of deviance

1372 words - 5 pages needs. The proliferation of these organizations for homosexuals has provided a supportive climate, allowing many of them to come out of the closet (Eitzen & Baca-Zinn: 2000).In this twenty-first century, values and norms are rapidly changing, especially in a Westernized society. Perceived norm-breaking behaviour like that of homosexuality has been prominently accepted in the few decades or so. There is indeed a blurred line between what is

This paper is about Adolf Hitler's 5 years in prison, how he came to write Mein Kampf, and how it influenced WWII

1010 words - 4 pages read. In his writing, Hitler was unable to use the passionate voice and dramatic bodily gestures which he had used so effectively in his speeches, to convey his message.The book was originally entitled Four Years of Struggle against Lies, Stupidity, and Cowardice. Hitler's publisher reduced it to My Struggle (Mein Kampf). The book is a mixture of autobiography, political ideas and an explanation of the techniques of propaganda. The

This essay is about rachel carson and her book silent spring and her why she thinks that pesticides like DDT are ruining the earth and what we can do to help

1414 words - 6 pages there were other things that could be done, other things that were not as harmful or even as expensive. That these other ways would ensure that when we woke up and looked outside we would be able to see the trees full of leaves as well as healthy birds, that we would be able to eat anything without worrying if it could cause us harm or even kill us. She wanted everyone to be able to go out in nature and enjoy what they saw. She couldn't see how we wouldn't want a world like that, how we would compromise the whole world of nature for slight progress. The people should be more careful about what they are putting on the earth and what it is doing to the earth.

This essay is about e-commerce. It asks the question like where it is going, and if it is going to survive

888 words - 4 pages settle down so we can watch ouur economy boom. Once this happens Greenspan will be raising rates, not lowering them! I think then once we grow up as a nation than we can take some of the six trillion sixhundred and eighty billion dollar surplus and pay off such things like our national debts that were aqquired during the "GREAT" president Ronald Raegan. Some people don't realize how much of our expenditure is spent each year on debt. Nearlly 15

Similar Essays

Values Shown In The Book The Great Gatsby. The Author F. Scott Fitzgerald Shows What Values He Excepts And Rejects

585 words - 2 pages Values are important to everyone, especially writers. It is clear in both My Antonia and The Great Gatsby that Willa Cather and F. Scott Fitzgerald have very clear feelings about their characters' attitudes and behaviors. Choose one book and discuss at least two values that the author supports and one that he or she rejects. Explain how the reader can recognize these values in the story with quotes as evidence.A perfect book to depict the

The Author F. Scott Fitzgerald Essay

1353 words - 5 pages that image. The petulant Westbrook Peeler went so far as to accuse him of being a crybaby whose characters drank gin in silver slabs while they sniffled about the sham and tinsel of it all (USC). And few of the obituary writers took enough regard of his development since his first two novels. F. Scott Fitzgerald died believing himself a failure but in fact he was not one at all. Fitzgerald's work did not earn the credibility and recognition it holds today until years after his death.

"What Does 'as You Like It' Suggest About Romantic Love And Marriage?" An Essay Discussing The Presentation Of Love And Lovers In Shakespeare's 'as You Like It'

1034 words - 4 pages lover should be totally obsessed by his love. He has the desire to "carve on every tree" his love for Rosalind. It is hard to find one line spoken in the play by Orlando that is not a reference to his love. Rosalind too displays this devotion:But what talk we of fathers when there is such a man as Orlando?She is unwilling to discuss anything but her love. Her only wish is to "find a shadow and sigh" in anticipation of Orlando.Both Orlando and

Its An Untitled Work In Progress By Me About A Person Named Calithar Harlen. Ps Tell Me How You Like It/What I Need To Do To Fix It

2067 words - 8 pages Hanson.Serithian replied, " I'm a tetra mage! Both black and white." "I haven't herd of a tetra mage... prove it and I will accept this. Trigger Armageddon then dispel it." "okay if you say so... ARMAGEDDON!" the earth started to shake "DISPEL!" then it stopped. "WHAT WAS THAT?!" Calithar had just woken up. "Only the most powerful black mage spell! She truly is a tetra mage. I'm sorry for challenging your mage powers. What are your names?""I'll tell you