Realism And How Authors Like Mark Twain And F. Scott Fitzgerald Give A "Tell It Like It Is" Writing In The Stories. An Author Can Only Write Realistically About What He/She Knows.

1825 words - 7 pages

In American literature realism, is an approach that attempts to describe life without idealization or romantic subjectivity. Realism has been mainly concerned with the commonplaces of everyday life among the middle and lower classes, where character is a product of social factors and environment is the important element in the dramatic complications.The realism sought to explain why ordinary people behave they way they do. What, for example, fuels the ambitions of a young man who has come from the country to the city to make his fortune? Why does an apparently happily married woman decide to have a love affair? What leads a woman to accept or reject a particular man? In trying to answer these questions, realistic novelists often relied on the emerging sciences of human and animal behavior--biology, psychology, and sociology--as well as on their own insights and observations.Realism from 1865 to the present has changed. As authors have moved into a global world, their writing has become less regional and therefore less realistic. Writers today do research instead of writing about what they already know about. As the world has become more global, authors have become more full. To a certain extent, realism is about presenting a limited view because is very much about regionalism. An author can only write realistically about what he/she knows.Authors like Mark Twain and F. Scott Fitzgerald gives a "tell it like it is" writing in the stories. In the novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, the setting has a large influence on Huck's character. The period of time that Huck lived in was a distinct era. The country was changing rapidly. During this period steam engines enabled rivers to be used as mass transportation, an idea that had never been explored until now.There were many traits of this era that can be seen by looking at the components of Huck's character, his language, actions and thoughts. Some of these traits are subtle and can be easily missed but others are very obvious and powerful. This period of change was the setting of Huck's childhood. One trait that is indicative of the era is the social class of Huck and Huck's language. It is greatly affected by his social class and setting. The broken English is a sign of Huck's low social class. In addition it also shows that he is from a southern river town. This can be seen from his expressions and accent.The rules of the time that Huck's character is governed upon, Huck was never educated. During the early 1800s there was no law that required children to go to school, therefore his low intellect has a strong impact on Huck's character. It gives him a "plain and simple" outlook on life, this trait can been seen throughout the book in Huck's character. One specific area it affects is Huck's plans for his future. Huck only thought about what he was going to do for present. Huck had an incapable father. He was thought of as the town drunk, and would often come home intoxicated and abuse Huck. At...

Find Another Essay On Realism and how authors like Mark Twain and F. Scott Fitzgerald give a "tell it like it is" writing in the stories. An author can only write realistically about what he/she knows.

Comparing Hills Like White Elephans by Ernest Hemingway and Babylon Revisited by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2392 words - 10 pages Like White Elephants” the American man’s request to Jig was that she get an abortion. Ultimately the decision was up to her because the baby would be an extension of her body, therefore she was in control. Avoiding having to care for a baby and letting his relationship get back to normal was the key to the American man’s happiness (Kozikowski, 109). He explained that it was “an awfully simple procedure….not really an operation at all” (Hemingway

This essay is about Mel Gibson's Passion of the Christ. I review the movie and see if Mel Gibson's directing efforts paid off like he wanted it to.

1244 words - 5 pages my friends, and the greatest love a person can have for his friends is to give his life for them."I give this movie a "B" because I have to assign a grade. But truly, there is no way to rate this movie as one would the usual multiplex fodder or quirky indie. Without being a theologian or an historian, all I can do is respond as a movie critic, and urge those who want to see it to use it as an opportunity to consider their own faith and the way

The Great Gatsby and the American Dream Title: The Great Gatsby Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

1078 words - 4 pages F. Scott Fitzgerald is famous for writing the "Great American Novel" known as The Great Gatsby (Baker 123). This epic novel portrays life in the 1920's during the jazz years, prohibition, and World War I. The story seems to take on a theme of romance, success, wealth, moral values and happiness or what is thought of as the "American Dream."However, as it turns out, due to easy money and the carefree social values of the era, The Great Gatsby

This essay is about rachel carson and her book silent spring and her why she thinks that pesticides like DDT are ruining the earth and what we can do to help.

1414 words - 6 pages there were other things that could be done, other things that were not as harmful or even as expensive. That these other ways would ensure that when we woke up and looked outside we would be able to see the trees full of leaves as well as healthy birds, that we would be able to eat anything without worrying if it could cause us harm or even kill us. She wanted everyone to be able to go out in nature and enjoy what they saw. She couldn't see how we wouldn't want a world like that, how we would compromise the whole world of nature for slight progress. The people should be more careful about what they are putting on the earth and what it is doing to the earth.

Similar Themes found in The Great Gatsby and Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald

1252 words - 5 pages obvious at first, it is quite apparent that both of these books contain similar themes. Looking at the story lines, it is hard to imagine that these two books are actually similar at all. But after closer observations, you can start to notice the subtle similarities between the characters, the settings and even the language that F Scott Fitzgerald writes. Overall, both these books are able to teach us lessons in life about morality and the importance of having dreams.

Porcelain and Pink by F. Scott Fitzgerald

1258 words - 6 pages of the young man in the window [and]… shrieks, throws up her hands… and sinks to the floor,” (Fitzgerald “Pink” 278-279). Dramatic exits at a point such as that are always best it seems, especially in the case of the works by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Fitzgerald modeled characters after himself, the events that occurred in his life, and the people involved so it is no shock that the stories can be related to him. John in “The Diamond as Big as the

Decay in Tender is the Night, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2878 words - 12 pages Written by F. Scott Fitzgerald in 1934, Tender is the Night is a story about human decadence and the degeneration of love and marriage due to excess. Fitzgerald wrote his symbolic novel during the 1920s, the “Jazz Age” before the great depression- the time period that clearly indicated how living excessively and recklessly has serious and destructive consequences. The novel exemplifies some of the values and vices that are still present in

Nocturnal Wonderland This is a descriptive essay about going to a rave and finding out what it's like. A personal story.It uses show don't tell.

626 words - 3 pages colors on the neck and feet of the ecstatic ravers. On the Break Beats stage, performers were mesmerizing the crowd with an amazing show by "Rabbit in the Moon," who captured all eyes with his crazy and magical extravaganza. "Rabbit in the Moon" took a metal grate and placed it over his face, I was wondering what he was going to do. To my surprise he took a metal grinder and started grinding the metal grate that was over his face, sparks were

Comparing F. Scott Fitzgerald and Jane Austen

1637 words - 7 pages Comparing F. Scott Fitzgerald and Jane Austen Undisputedly, F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of the world's great writers, with a unique style of writing recognisable to any learned reader. His use of similes and metaphors is distinguished, and the issues he presents to the reader and the way in which he conveys them are both effective and thought provoking. Fitzgerald makes many profound statements in his work, and his comments on society

write like a pro

850 words - 3 pages routine and boring.Post-Maturity Phase:The challenges that surfboard business can experience in Maturity phase of the business life cycle are:Changing trends: To achieve the post-maturity phase, it is important for Zac, Danny and Christina to focus on what customers are currently demanding. Products that were successful in the past, and are still in demand, can still be abandoned if required. The surfboard business could undergo a research program to assist them in when considering future planning and consumer spending trends.Barinderjeet Jandu Business Report 10/03/2014

Childhood Influences Impact the Writing of F. Scott Fitzgerald

1205 words - 5 pages the "right" crowd and so he was enrolled in a dancing class for boys and girls at Ramaley Hall on Grand Avenue. It was in this dancing class that he met Marie Hersey. Marie was a good childhood friend who is even said to have helped Zelda re-wardrobe at Scott's request (he didn't like her southern style and found it unfitting to New York society) after their marriage and move to New York. Mollie also found hope in Scott when compared to the

Similar Essays

Values Shown In The Book The Great Gatsby. The Author F. Scott Fitzgerald Shows What Values He Excepts And Rejects

585 words - 2 pages Values are important to everyone, especially writers. It is clear in both My Antonia and The Great Gatsby that Willa Cather and F. Scott Fitzgerald have very clear feelings about their characters' attitudes and behaviors. Choose one book and discuss at least two values that the author supports and one that he or she rejects. Explain how the reader can recognize these values in the story with quotes as evidence.A perfect book to depict the

The Author F. Scott Fitzgerald. Essay

1353 words - 5 pages that image. The petulant Westbrook Peeler went so far as to accuse him of being a crybaby whose characters drank gin in silver slabs while they sniffled about the sham and tinsel of it all (USC). And few of the obituary writers took enough regard of his development since his first two novels. F. Scott Fitzgerald died believing himself a failure but in fact he was not one at all. Fitzgerald's work did not earn the credibility and recognition it holds today until years after his death.

Its An Untitled Work In Progress By Me About A Person Named Calithar Harlen. Ps Tell Me How You Like It/What I Need To Do To Fix It

2067 words - 8 pages Hanson.Serithian replied, " I'm a tetra mage! Both black and white." "I haven't herd of a tetra mage... prove it and I will accept this. Trigger Armageddon then dispel it." "okay if you say so... ARMAGEDDON!" the earth started to shake "DISPEL!" then it stopped. "WHAT WAS THAT?!" Calithar had just woken up. "Only the most powerful black mage spell! She truly is a tetra mage. I'm sorry for challenging your mage powers. What are your names?""I'll tell you

Critical Lens Essay. On The Quote " It Is Not What An Author Says, But What He Or She Whispers That Is Important," By Logan Pearsall Smith.

529 words - 2 pages "It is not what an author says, but what he or she whispers that is important," by Logan Pearsall Smith. This quote means that the author delivers the theme through underlie themes. A lot of the times he may not come out and say what they are trying to say. Most of the time you have to read between the lines. This statement is true in literature as well as in life. Two literary works that prove this quote to be true are "The Tragedy of Macbeth